One-nighters, Movies, and meet-n-greets…Welcome to ground hog day.

by

Maybe I am getting old or something but damn this tour is kicking my ass.  I am lifeless and tired and miss home.  I am sure it has something to due with Katie being pregnant.  I am always worrying about her and it is tough when I know she is uncomfortable and I am not there to help her get through it.

What was I thinking when I approved all these one-nighters.  Was I on crazy pills.  We have done dates like this is the past and gotten through them fine but this time it just seems so hard.  For those of you that don’t understand the concept of a one-nighter.  A one-nighter means that we arrive in a city in the morning and load-in the show.  Load-in is normally finished around 4pm.  We almost always do 2 shows a night.  The house opens around 5pm for a 5:30 show.  We do 2 shows back to back then the crew has to load-out the show back on the trucks.  The truck doors close around 1am and then we are of to the next city to do it all over again.  Now multiply that times 7 and you have a very hard week.

Meet -n-greets are just plain driving me crazy this trip.  I want to be nice.  I want to try to help people but I don’t think that the people asking me for a meet-n-greet realize how much of my time that it actually takes.  On a normal day there are times that I don’t even go into the house once the shows start.  I have a lot of responsibility and from 5pm till the shows end there are certain thing that have to happen no matter what plus I need to be at the ready in case there is any unforeseen problem.  Some of my days are sort of like being on automatic pilot and other days are like nothing can go right.  I have mentioned this subject before and people will make comment like “I am sure that people understand when you can’t help them” or “just tell them the truth that you don’t have the time tonight and David is not doing meet and greets”  Trust me this does not work.  I have tried everything.  Being nice… Being EXTRA nice… Being nice but short and sweet.  Almost every time these people still lurk around after the show saying they are my friend and beg the crew to help them.  The crew is very aware that this happens but they also know that I have a lot of friends that come to the show so not wanting to make a mistake they hunt me down on the walkie talkie and ask .  This can get very frustrating.  I am at a loss on what to do.

Movies.  thats it just movies.  I think Homer, David and I have seen a movie almost every night the run.  Think it is the only thing keeping me from going crazy.

Till later

Chris

5 Responses to “One-nighters, Movies, and meet-n-greets…Welcome to ground hog day.”

  1. Andrew Mayne Says:

    Want us to start spreading the news that the tour all has swine flu? That’ll cut down the requests a little.

  2. Chase Goforth Says:

    I don’t know how you do the one nighters. I feel exhausted just thinking about it.

    Have you hit Paranormal Activities yet? See it, then lets work on a script that we can shoot for $11,000 that’ll make 40 million in the opening week. I’ll go halvsies. : )

    About the meet & greet a-holes… I totally think Mayne should go with you next tour and be David’s “Meet & Greet Double”.

  3. Jim Maddex Says:

    Hey Chris. Just wanted to thank you for saying hello before the show in Peoria. I did stay after the show and didnt see you. Thats ok. I am not offended. You were very nice and I like to think that you tried. I understand you get requests all the time. I wasnt expecting anything so no worries. I know how you guys work and only imagine what your day feels like. My girlfriend and I loved the show. Keep up the good work. David seemed liked he was enjoying himself this time. When you come through again maybe well meet again. Take care and congrats on your baby coming. I know you dont know me very well but I am sincere. Im an electrician by the way, are you looking for one? Jk jim

  4. Peter Wood Says:

    That really must be tough, Chris. Always sucks to be the bad guy … and a big kudos to you for trying different tactics to turn people away gently.

    Maybe you need a code word for your true friends? 🙂 Although knowing magi I’m sure it’d be leaked on the Café in 24 hrs. I find it very ironic that 90% of your Meet-N-Greets are magicians, and yet they all seem to think that they’re the minority.

    Funny that an average fan with a modest approach is more likely to get the chance, vs. a pompous magician who mistakenly thinks he’s an “insider.”

    Oh well … hang in there!

  5. Eddy Wade Says:

    Hey Chris, Maybe you need a magician personal assistant to handle the M&G’s for you and Mr. DC when on the road. I’d be happy to be your “gate keeper”.

    Congrat’s on the baby!!

    Hope you enjoyed the TWO nights in N.C.

Leave a comment